Tel: 01993 823303

The Governing Body

Burford-Logo_blue Pse use thisThe full board of Governors meets five times a year and holds a meeting of Parents and Governors in Term 3. Committees meet five times a year, making appropriate reports and recommendations to the full Board of Governors. Each Committee elects a Chair who sits on the Strategy and Development Committee. In 2016 the Governing Body were re-awarded the Governor Mark for a further three years. Governor Mark identifies national standards for good governance.

The Chair of Governors is Mr Derek Grimsley 

The Company Secretary is Mrs S Reeve:

Full details of each Committee’s remit, copies of non-confidential minutes and any Governors’ Register of Interest are available from the Company Secretary. The Governors follow a Code of Conduct which is reviewed annually and signed by each member upon appointment.


Parent GovernorsOrdinary GovernorsStaff GovernorsCo-optionsAssociate MembersObservers and Secretary
Mr Derek Grimsley

(Chair of Governors)

Mr Stuart NorridgeMrs Andrea BirdVacancyAbby Netherwood
Head Girl
Mrs Katie Shires
Deputy Headteacher
Mr Steven Carroll

(Vice-chair of Governors)

Mr Richard Martin


Mrs Kathy Haig Headteacher VacancyDeron Reni
Head Boy
Mrs Suzanne Reeve
Company Secretary
 Mrs Karen SimpsonMrs Sarah MatthewsVacancy


Lauren Cambray
Deputy Head Girl
Mr Alan Staniforth
Business Manager
 Mrs Ginny RenwickMr Andrew Pitman

Safeguarding Governor

 Mr Chris Cowley Alex Roberts
Deputy Head Boy
Mr Brett Jouny
Deputy Headteacher & Director of Boarding
 Mrs Cheryl BraceyMr John White   
  Mr Philip Foster Vacancy


Governor Attendance at meetings 2017-18

Safeguarding Governor role

Governors Code of Conduct 2018-19


Governor Links with Departments 2017-18

DepartmentLink GovernorDepartmentLink Governor
ArtKaren SimpsonBusiness StudiesAndrew Pitman
BoardingStuart NorridgePsychologyVacancy
Careers/Business linkStuart NorridgeChild ProtectionAndrew Pitman
DramaSarah MatthewsEnglish Vacancy
EALDerek GrimsleyGeography Stuart Norridge
Gifted and TalentedDerek GrimsleyHistoryRichard Martin
ICT Philip FosterLearning ZoneDerek Grimsley
LibraryJohn WhiteMathematicsRichard Martin
Modern LanguagesCheryl BraceyMusic Ginny Renwick
P.E.Steven CarrollPSHE/CareersJohn White
Religious EducationJohn WhiteScienceSteven Carroll
Sixth Form and Post 16 EducationDerek GrimsleyTechnologyKaren Simpson
Pupil Premium GovernorDerek Grimsley Student Council Andrea Bird


Governor Committee Structure 2018-2019


Boarding CommitteeCurriculum & Standards CommitteeFinancial Management, Premises, Health & Safety CommitteeStaff & Student Development CommitteeStrategy & Development Committee
 Mr S  Norridge (Chair)Mrs C Bracey (Chair)Mr R Martin (Chair)Mrs S Matthews (Chair)Mr D Grimsley (Chair)
Mrs S Matthews (Vice-Chair) VacancyMrs K Simpson (Vice-Chair)Mr S CarrollMr S Carroll
 Mr A Pitman Mrs K Haig Mr J White Mrs K HaigMr A Pitman
 Mrs K HaigMr D Grimsley Mr C Cowley Mr A PitmanMr S Norridge
 Mrs G Renwick Mr P Foster Mrs K Haig Mrs A BirdMrs K Haig
Boarding Comittee Terms of Reference 2018-19C&S CommitteeTerms of Reference 2018-19Finance & Premises Committee combined Terms of Reference 2018-19Staff & Student CommitteeTerms Of Reference 2018-19 Strategy & Development Terms of Reference 2017-18

Governor Details, Pecuniary & Personal Interests

GovernorStart dateTerm of officeFinishing datePecuniary & personal interests
Mrs A Bird03.04.2017Four years02.04.2021Finance Manager at Burford School
Mrs C Bracey13.12.2017Four years12.12.2021None
Mr S Carroll11.11.2016Four years10.11.2020None
Mr C Cowley03.04.2017Four years02.04.2021Burford School Staff
Mr P Foster23.02.2018Four years22.02.2022Director of Hellios Information Ltd

Councillor of Bampton Parish Council

Mr D Grimsley01.01.2012Four years 31.12.2019Royal Air Force
Mrs K Haig01.01.2009Until conclusion of Headteacher roleN/AHeadteacher of Burford School/ Director-Wysdom Touring Park/ Trustee-Burford Foundation Governors
Mr R Martin01.08.2016 Four years31.07.2020 None
Mrs S Matthews 01.04.2015 Four years 31.03.2019Parish Councillor, Shipton-under-Wychwood Parish Council
Mr S Norridge 01.09.2014 Four years 31.08.2018 None
Mr A Pitman 01.01.2017Four years 31.12.2020 Director-Pitman’s Optometrists Ltd/

Links to-Shipton-under-Wychwood Parish Council


Mrs G Renwick13.12.2017Four years12.12.2021 

Director of Kubernetes Ltd

Mrs K Simpson01.11.2014Four years31.10.2018Karen Simpson Designer/ Architects Registration Board
Mr J White01.04.2018 Four years31.03.2022Governor of Burford Primary School & Trustee of Burford Pre-school
Mr T Leach – resigned11.11.201614.11.2017
Rev’d Dr R Wainwright – resigned01.10.201531.12.2017
Mr R Dampney – resigned01.03.201502.07.2018
Back to the Top